Sh*t Said on the Streets

Yesterday was not a good day for me.  I spent most the night bowing to the porcelain throne and had to call in sick for work.  About the middle of the day I dragged my sorry, sick self out of my house and headed to a coffee shop to check my email.  I had thrown on a sweatshirt, and sweatpants and one didn’t have to look very hard to see that I hadn’t spent much time on my hair.  When you don’t feel good looking good isn’t on the top of your priority list.

My time spent at the coffee shop did not improve my mood, nor my stomach.  I gave up after I spilled my drink everywhere.  I was nauseous and on the verge of tears by the time I headed back to my car.  As I was walking back some guy on a construction site whistled at me (way to live into the stereotype…).  I felt anything but flattered.  If I had been feeling better I would have had some choice words for him and most likely would have flipped him the bird.  Instead though I pulled my belongings closer and tried to walk quickly and inconspicuously to my car.  I pulled the door shut and burst into tears.

Not only did this mans attention not make me feel flattered it made me feel helpless.  It did not feel like a compliment.  It did not feel like I was being respected.  It felt like I was being judged.  It felt like I was being objectified.  I also felt like the butt of a joke considering how awful I looked.  So, thank you random man for making my bad day a little worse.  And if you are a man who has ever cat-called a woman, whistled at her, or in any other way contributed to street harassment then shame on you.

This video made me feel a little better.  Enjoy.

Shit Men Say to Men Who Say Shit to Women on the Street

One thought on “Sh*t Said on the Streets

  1. fieara says:

    So true, and I totally get this even though I usually feel happy when stuff like this happens. Thanks for posting. I think us women should start whistling at them and shouting out sexual comments, see how they like it!

Leave a Reply

