Pride Parade 2012

I grew up in a small town.  I went to a fairly small high school and the university I went to is in a small town, slightly bigger than the one I grew up in, but still small (and religious, but more on that another day).  I just recently moved to a large city and have had several, “wow, I feel like a hick” or “I am definitely from a small town” moments.  I woke up this morning to a text from my co-worker.  She informed me that today the Pride Parade was happening and I probably shouldn’t drive to work (mostly because there was absolutely nowhere to park!).  So, I decided to walk the nearly four miles instead.  I am so glad I did.  I have never seen anything like this parade!  It was amazing, and if definitely made me feel like a small town kid.  I loved it though.  Here are a few pictures I was able to snap as I painstakingly made my way to work today.  Enjoy!

I tried to make sure I got this guy from the side so I would feel okay about posting it on the internet.  To be honest though he probably wouldn’t care considering he just rode through the whole city…

This guy was definitely one of my favorites!

This isn’t the greatest picture but it makes me laugh.  She was ridiculously excited that I was pointing a camera at her.  I must have looked official or something because I got this reaction repeatedly.

If you want to find out more about the origins of both the pride parade and the gay rights movement click here.

One thought on “Pride Parade 2012

  1. […] and has little interest in marriage, I was even a little offended by this post.  As I shared in an earlier post, I have recently moved to a larger city.  Since moving I have been able to connect with several […]

Leave a Reply

