Bees in My Bonnet: Objectification, Misunderstandings, and Serial Rapists Identified

Bee in the Lavender

Cameron Diaz tells the Sunday Times that every woman wants to be objectified, not only that, but it’s healthy.

The author of “The War on Men” backpedals, saying she was misunderstood, she wasn’t talking about men and women, but rather husbands and wives.  Like this makes it any better…

A man explains why he needs feminism too.  “I need to be a feminist, because in the event that I have a daughter, I want her, as I would want for a son, to grow up in an environment where she can play with whatever toys she prefers, study whatever degree she wants, be with whoever she loves, aspire to become whatever she desires – I want her to feel free to be who she is, without antiquated norms, traditions, customs, and gender roles getting in the way. This, I would want for any and all individuals regardless of sex or gender identification. This freedom is what can create richness and greatness in our societies.”

Detroit prosecutor Kym Worthy has identified 21 serial rapists and is looking to keep going as she goes through backlogged rape kits.  Rock on Ms. Worthy!

“…for those judgmental ladies who hide behind the name of Feminism, you are putting feminists to shame. I’ll wear makeup and take burlesque classes if I want to.

And in case you are having a rough day join me in some (slightly guilty) laughter.

Awesome quote of the week!

“For I conclude that the enemy is not lipstick, but guilt itself; that we deserve lipstick, if we want it, AND free speech; we deserve to be sexual AND serious–or whatever we please; we are entitled to wear cowboy boots to our own revolution.”  ― Naomi Wolf

What have you been reading this week?

3 thoughts on “Bees in My Bonnet: Objectification, Misunderstandings, and Serial Rapists Identified

  1. yablogtherapy says:

    Thanks for quoting me. However, I would appreciate if you used my quote accurately. Taking my words out of context and placing it directly after Cameron Diaz saying that all women wants to be objectified and it’s healthy, is grossly misleading to the intention of my post. I’m not too sure if you managed to read my entire post or took the time to understand it. I would greatly appreciate if you corrected this or deleted my quote all together. Thanks again.

    • I apologize for the misunderstanding. The “Bees in My Bonnet” post is a recurring post I do that highlights various blog posts, and articles that I found interesting. They are not meant to be connected although sometimes I do find that a theme emerges. I did read your post and appreciated what you had to say. That is why I linked to it. I felt that you had so much to say that I wouldn’t be able to aptly sum it up in one or two sentences like I had the rest. Which is why I directly quoted you. I can switch the order of the links if you would like, or if there is another snippet of the post you would like me to use please let me know. If you would still like me to remove it I can do that as well.

      • yablogtherapy says:

        Thanks for getting back to me. Swapping the order would be much appreciated. It just appears I was associated with something Cameron Diaz said :P. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

