Bees in my Bonnet: Return from the Holidays

Bee in the Lavender

Welcome back dear readers.  I hope you are doing well in the midst of this holiday season.  I was able to have a much-needed mini vacation from work and spend some time with my family.  I also saw Les Miserables which was amazing!  Highly recommend that you see it (unless you dislike Broadway musicals, then it won’t be your thing).  I haven’t been on my computer much in the last week so I haven’t been reading as much but here’s a couple of things I found interesting.  What have you been reading?

Patriarchy Survivor shares the testimony of a survivor who studied rape in college and asks survivors to stop blaming themselves and start focusing on healing.

Sexism in advertising: Harmless joke or powerful messages of misogyny?

A male survivor shares his story and his resulting feelings of guilt that he has a hard time trusting women.

An interesting article about modesty and self-hatred: “We need a better conversation because men should not be hating themselves every time a woman walks by.”

The 45 most powerful images of 2012 (according to buzzfeed).  See also the Big Picture parts I, II, and III (there is some overlap but it’s totally worth it).

2 thoughts on “Bees in my Bonnet: Return from the Holidays

  1. jlandrith says:

    I’m glad you found my experience interesting and shared it with your readers. Thank you.

    • For sure. I think that sometimes advocates for survivors advocate so hard for women that the men who have also been assaulted and/or raped are left out of the conversation. It can be easy sometimes to think of man as the enemy, the assaulter, the one doing the harm but in reality both men and women can be perpetrators, and both are survivors. My heart hurts that you experienced this but I am grateful for your voice. Thank you for sharing your story and being such a vocal advocate.

Leave a Reply

