I Am More

I am more than the punchline to a bad joke
More than my baby making parts
More than a body
More than an incubator
More than a purity ring
I am more than a slut, a saint, or a prude
And I am more than a decoration
 
I am more
You cannot tell me who I am
Because I already know
I am a woman
 
I am strong and complex
I am not perfect
I make mistakes…often
But you do not define me
It is not your job to fix me
 
When you push me down
I will only rise, stronger
Shame and I are no longer lovers
No longer keeping company in the night
I am more than the guilt you put on me
 
I am more
 
And I am not ashamed
To be a woman
This is my strength
This is my power
 
I am more
5 thoughts on “I Am More

  1. kittyscause says:

    This is amazing! I’m have to reblog this!!

  2. bryonywrites says:

    Great poem, very emancipating. Bryony

  3. Toni says:

    This brought tears of joy to my eyes and heart. Beautiful and oozing with healing.

Leave a Reply

