A Reminder to Give Yourself Some TLC…From a Hot Guy

October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and I have been hanging onto this video for way too long.

I find this video highly refreshing compared to the usual barrage of sexist campaigns such as “save the ta-tas,” or the silly Facebook memes.  I’ve seen a couple in the past that were meant to be provacative, and dare I say, titilating.  The “I like it on the _____” comes to mind.  How are you bringing awareness to something when no one knows what you’re talking about or thinks you are way oversharing?

Back to the video.  Who wouldn’t want a gorgeous man reminding them to do a self-breast exam?  First of all the method is great.  It’s simple and easy to remember.  TLC – touch, look, check.  Got it.  Second of all, if you want to argue that it is going the opposite direction and objectifying men, it is totally obvious these guys are having fun in the video.  They are not being used, demeaned, or demoralized.  There are in on it.  I beleive whole-heartedly that men can be, and are objectified.  It is not just something that happens to women.  But, I would argue that it is not happening in this video.  So enjoy the visual, get a check up, and maybe take a cold shower.  😉

This campaign is done by Rethink Breast Cancer.

“Launched in 2001, Rethink is the first-ever, Canadian breast cancer charity to bring bold, relevant awareness to the under-40 crowd; foster a new generation of young and influential breast cancer supporters; infuse sass and style into the cause; and, most importantly, respond to the unique needs of young (or youngish) women going through it.”

I have a couple of things planned for this month and it is not all going to be light and fun.  Breast cancer is a tough reality for far too many women.  It is something that affects far too many families.  My own included.  I lost my grandmother to cancer when I was thirteen and there are still days it knocks me down, panting for breath.  I hope to balance my posts with not only stories and hardships, but hope as well.  If anyone has a story they’d like to share please feel free to contact me.  Also, I just found out the documentary Pink Ribbons, Inc. was on Netflix.  I plan to watch it and write a review.  I would love it if others wanted to watch it as well and join in on the discussion.

10 thoughts on “A Reminder to Give Yourself Some TLC…From a Hot Guy

    • I actually had not seen those ads before. While I think the idea is a good one, I don’t really like the execution. Instead of superimposing scars onto a healthy woman I think it would have been more impactful, though probably no less controversial, to use real breast cancer survivors. These ads are a step in the right direction, but in a way they are still implying that we are extremely uncomfortable with real breast cancer. What did you think?

      • emmawolf says:

        When I first saw them, I didn’t know that they weren’t actual cancer survivors. I thought they were pretty amazing. But I see what you mean about the poor execution. It’s like they are creaming “hey society! Stop being so uncomfortable with breast cancer” in a way that shows they too are uncomfortable with it. But I also wonder if they would have been able to find a survivor willing to model.

      • emmawolf says:

        That was really amazing. Thanks for sharing.

        (just to clarify, was the ad campaign from Victoria’s Secret or just mimicking them? I was going to ramble more about unrealistic opinions of beauty but I hope you know what I meant earlier…)

  1. Aimee says:

    Wow…I’m going to have to go out and buy a smartphone so I can get that app 🙂

  2. […] Girl’s Night Out To Support Breast Cancer Research8 Beauty Buys to Help Support Breast Cancer AwarenessVolleyball Raises Money to Support Breast Cancer Research, Loses to PalyJoin the Fight Against Breast CancerA Reminder to Give Yourself Some TLC…From a Hot Guy […]

  3. […] Unladylike Musings with a reminder to give yourself some TLC from a hot guy. […]

  4. […] Remember to Give Yourself Some TLC…From a Hot Guy […]

Leave a comment